A 143-Year Heritage
James Daly & Sons is one of Cork’s longest established food companies. We began trading butter at Cork’s famous Butter Market under the Bells of Shandon in 1871 and produced our first diary spreads at The Firkin Crane 1905. In 1921 our products even made it to the South Pole! Sir Ernest Shackelton personally requested Daly’s Butter, as its parchment wrapping was ideal for the harsh conditions.
In 1926 James Daly presented a pedestrian bridge as a gift to Cork City. This classic Victorian wrought Iron suspension bridge, designed by Stephen W. Farrington, is located in Fitzgerald’s Park and has become one of Cork’s most iconic landmarks.We moved from our historic Shandon Street location in 1979 to a brand new facility a short distance away in Churchfield, on the north side of the city where we produced a wide range of private label products and a wide range of products for the food services and bakery industries.
The business was sold in 1989 by the Daly family and became part of Irish Sugar. In 2001 its managing director, Charlie Fleury, purchased the company from Greencore. We began a major extension and modernisation of our Churchfield facility in In 2003. In 2006, we began a major capital investment programme creating a state-of-the-art plant.
In 2007 we rebranded the business as JDS Foods Ltd and expanded our research and development programmes, building upon existing products and creating new ranges.
In 2014, we launched Dairymaid, bringing us back to our roots as a Cork consumer brand found in fridges all over Ireland.